Frosted Roll-Out Sugar Cookies
This blog post took a long time in the making. Why? Because my family kept eating the cookies before I could photograph them! I had originally planned to do some fancy decorating with royal icing and detailed piping, but no such luck.

That’s ok…the result is a soft roll-out cookie that’s simply delicious with or without frosting.

When my daughter tasted the first batch that came out of the oven, she said “These aren’t just sugar cookies, you added a little something extra!” The “something extra” is a sprinkle of nutmeg and almond extract instead of vanilla.

I’ve also tried imitation rum flavoring instead of the almond extract, which usually gets the response “These taste like egg nog!” Try varying the flavorings depending on the occasion…peppermint extract would be great for Christmas cookies.

This dough also freezes well, so you can prepare batches in advance to get a head-start on your holiday baking or just to have on hand.

Pumpkin Cookies Before Baking
Frosted Roll-Out Sugar Cookies

I’ve omitted the frosting recipe, as it was quite a flop. I couldn’t find my royal icing recipe, so I did a quick search online and used the first thing I found. It ended up being a thick and chalky tasting mess that could have been avoided if only I’d read the recipe reviews first! Royal icing is usually smooth and self-leveling, which is what I was hoping for.

Somehow that didn’t stop these cookies from disappearing!

Soft Roll-Out Sugar Cookies
1 cup butter, softened at room temperature
1 egg
1 teaspoon almond extract (the original recipe called for vanilla here, or you can substitute any flavoring you’d like)
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 1/2 teaspon baking powder
1 cup sugar
3 Tablespoons milk
3 cups flour
1/2 teaspon salt

Cream butter and sugar in bowl. Beat in egg, milk, and extracts or vanilla. Stir in dry ingredients and mix well. Roll out dough on floured surface, cut with cookie cutters. Bake at 400 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.

